Notices

Day One-Need Help

Old 06-02-2014, 08:40 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Day One-Need Help

I have been a member for about a year, and many a day was saved by reading posts from everyone on SR.Thank You for that. I have been drinking on and off since I was 15, over 40 years. I did go 10 years sober, loved my life, spent time with friends, doing things not involving alcohol. I was married for 26 years to a wonderful woman, my best friend, and a very supportive partner. For other reasons we divorced 5 years ago. I have managed poorly with sobriety since then. I have been in 3 relationships since the divorce, and my alcohol use has been a key factor in them not working.
I have found myself to be the epitome of co-dependence, which I am getting therapy for. The booze has to go, I want my life back, and the best years of my life were those sober. I am a binger, and for most of those many years, beer was what I consumed. My tolerance has gotten so high, that there are not enough hours in the day for beer, and I have changed to whiskey. I just got out of the last relationship, and went on a 7 day binge, at least a fifth a day, actually there are 9 empty bottles that I threw out. I am going cold turkey today, been without a drink for 24 hours now. I know better, and it has been a rough day, you know the drill, shakes, sweats, no sleep, little food. I am confident that I can stop, at least for a week or two, but I need help. I am planning on attending an AA meeting tomorrow night, and haven't posted here for a long time. I need the support, if I don't get it I may not live another year. My body, and my mind cannot do this anymore-my life looks good on the outside, but is truly a mess. Any advice on why I get into these co-dependent relationships, or am I putting the cart before the horse. Thanks for listening-I'll keep it briefer next time.
Old 06-02-2014, 08:44 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Glad you've made the decision to stop.