Notices

Today is the 1st day of the rest of my life

Old 07-07-2004, 01:02 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Today is the 1st day of the rest of my life

I have attempted to stop drinking more times than I can remember. I have been drinking heavily for about the last 7-10 years. I have recently found this website in desperation to stop drinking.

I have to admit I am scared and worried about never drinking again. I don't know why that worries me? I am sick of waking up almost everyday hung-over, feeling sick, hating myself and worring that my husband will hate me.

I have admitted to my husband my problem and he is very supportive; however, I have continued to drink since admitting to him two weeks ago and I feel as if I am a big failure. I am afraid of failure.

I know I have a problem and I am here for help. If anyone could give me advice on how to get thru the next few days without drinking that would be wonderful.

I am a nurse and I am aware of the medical implications of abstaining.

Any thoughts and suggestions are welcome!
Old 07-07-2004, 01:15 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hello and welcome to SoberRecovery.
This was a good place for you to come and find out more about alcoholism and share with others who are going throught the same thing.
What about an outside support group? Have you thought about going to an AA meeting?
We will be here to help you through the withdrawals...
More and more Naltrexone is being prescibed to take away the craving and remove the high you get when/if you do drink. Ask your doctor about it.
The past couple of times that I have gone through withdrawal, I just had to sweat them out and ride with it. But it did subside.
I am almost 60 days sober and very grateful.
Read in the alcohol forum and ask questions...
I am addict to alcohol.
Old 07-07-2004, 02:25 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Hi Hockeychick,