Notices

i need support to keep sober

Old 05-25-2014, 11:42 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

i need support to keep sober

Im new to this support group. I just moved to new jersey three months ago, im from puerto rico. I recently got a One week suspensión from work for drinking. I need advice on how to overcome the urge to have a drink after a stressfull day
Old 05-25-2014, 12:21 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

there are different ways davidcastro-this site is a big help as you will find a lot of support and encouragement here. there is also AA, which helps because you will meet others with the same problem as you and you will learn how to resist the temptation to drink. I just hang out reading these posts-it helps me keep on track. It also depends on how much you drank and for how long-do you need medical help to detox? that is nothing to fool around with and you may need to see a doctor for help with that. however you do it, congratulations on your decision to stop drinking.
Old 05-25-2014, 12:25 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
A simple guy making his way

Welcome to SR davidC. As happyAfree said thee are a few ways to go about it. This site has a few areas you can read and people here are great.

When I first got here reading ...posting... And interacting with others is what helped me most. It was nearly impossible to read such a big site so while there are resources sharing your story and making some friends will hopefully help!

Glad you are here... Ken
Old 05-25-2014, 12:28 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

One idea is: When you have that urge to have that drink, sidetrack it by doing something completely different in its place. I did a lot of weightlifting and running in the early days, but even just going out for a long walk would put you in a spot where you're not having that drink and reinforcing that pattern.
Old 05-25-2014, 12:33 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  
Administrator

You can find healthy ways to deal with a stressful day at work or any of life's ups and downs.