Notices

Back on the shaky bridge of abstinence.

Old 05-23-2014, 11:20 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Back on the shaky bridge of abstinence.

Hi. I've decided to jump back on the wagon due to my excessive binging, anxiety and depression. It's very familiar territory for me having done a couple of lengthy spells without touching a drop.

Last night I drank 20 cans of medium strength lager without even stumbling to bed. I've been doing this regularly for the past 2 years and years of binging on and off for as long as I could hold a pint glass with one hand.

I've tried everything from self help, detox, AA probably everything. I just can't seem to stop. My life feels like it's in black and white until that first beer. When I'm sober I lose interest in everything that is dear to me. I get desperately unhappy and I'm not the person I should be. I've suffered from depression and anxiety from a young age that has really made my life, my personality and my life choices a burden on my soul. I drink to forget I think.

So today I'm starting again on my old adversary the long shaky bridge and I'm terrified all over again.
Old 05-23-2014, 11:27 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Behold the power of NO

So today I'm starting again on my old adversary the long shaky bridge and I'm terrified all over again.
Don't approach it as a long shaky bridge or going "on the wagon" because right there you are setting yourself up for failure. I would recommend that you approach it instead as a while lifestyle change. You are going in for a new adventure and yes it is a bit scary but also exciting.
What is your plan to achieve and maintain sobriety as well as a good quality of life?
Old 05-23-2014, 11:30 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

yeah.... I agree.

When we look at it as this daunting terrible thing or a 'wagon' to jump on, we are kind of approaching it as temporary.