Notices

Making Believe

Old 05-15-2014, 12:34 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
High Wire Girl

Making Believe

I've been thinking a lot about my folks. I studied them very closely when I was young. I thought the way they treated each other was normal. It made me sad and confused. I pretended things were different, but pretending only works in short bursts. Reality interrupts the dream. It makes sense that drinking became my grown-up version of make believe.

I always find it's much easier to understand Big Mare's feelings than figure out my dad's. Mom and I spent a lot more time together. Humanness gushed from her like an uncapped fire hydrant. Gene Dall, on the other hand… Well, he may be a cyborg. Of course, we won't know if this is the case until the time of his death when scientists can actually study his molecular structure and report their findings.

I'm pleased that I can put together some reasonable explanations that make sense of the way Mom and Dad behaved. If I can figure out my own **** as much as I have, I can certainly take a crack at decoding those two. Putting myself in their shoes changes everything about the way I see situations. It has brought compassion into my angry heart. It guides my adult decisions with wisdom and grace. It helps me dignify my elderly parent. Still, whenever I exercise this opportunity, I realize I wouldn't have wanted to be married to either of them.

I wonder if my sons are watching the way David and I carry ourselves. I would guess so, but they probably don't scrutinize us in the same way. Dave and I are open and communicative. It is clear that we value and respect one another. There is very little upsetment in our relationship. Desmond and Brother are not preoccupied with the condition of our marriage. They're able to concentrate on the things they enjoy. They can just be kids, and I'm glad.