Notices

unwinding alcohol from your life

Old 05-02-2014, 12:30 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
nmd

unwinding alcohol from your life

I'm committed to quitting, but struggling and working to come to terms with a lot of things.

I'm a home brewer, mostly beer but I've also made wine. Over the years I've spent a lot of my free time going to wineries & breweries, finding wines and beers that I enjoyed. I also love cooking and enjoyed beer/wine with food. I started brewing a little over 10 years ago and got into wines and micro brews years before that.

The past few years though, once the good stuff ran out it's been a lot more cheap beer and liquor. Drinking was about drinking. I drank every day, and if I was at home I would talk myself into drinking earlier and earlier over time. Vacations were all out binges.

At times in the past when I've had major drinking incidents and thought about quitting, it usually occured to me at some point how invested I've become in drinking, how much of my life is about alcohol. My first reaction is one of sadness and also shame. It feels like a death or break up. I feel like I'm going to lose the enjoyment from those experiences I've had when drinking, and also as a home brewer it will be harder for me to just quit under the radar of others. Everybody will know and judge, I have all this equipment as a reminder. It will also be a while before I can be around a lot of the upcoming summer festivals without it making me want to drink.

I also come to realize how much freedom I will have by taking alcohol out of my life, how many arguments and how much money and time I've spent on it. I can do anything with that time now. I know it was always the experiences that brought the good memories I have and not the alcohol itself. The booze just brought arguments, lost memories and more DWI close calls that I can count.