Notices

Concerned that this forum is enabling

Old 04-26-2014, 08:06 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Concerned that this forum is enabling

I am VERY new to recovery.

I am addicted to Klonopin / Xanax and alcohol.

I have received so many wonderful words of support and comfort from the compassionate, helpful people on this forum.

But, I'm worried. Everyone who says "Oh, it's easy to kick the bottle, I did it." Or those people who say, "Don't worry. It's easy to break through to the other side."

When I hear those words, I think, "Oh, my addictions aren't so bad. I can kick them anytime." And then I drink more. And I use more.

Support is important. But sometimes it can be enabling.

Thoughts?
Old 04-26-2014, 08:13 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

I completely disagree.

SR saved my life.
I *needed* to know other people could do it - I had no confidence left in myself.

Give us a chance You've been a part of this community a number of hours.

It's not the forum you have to worry about, Kabukicho, it's the way our inner addict can take anything it finds threatening, twist it, and use that to protect itself.

D
Old 04-26-2014, 08:14 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Hi Kabukicho.

I have to say that I don't think I have ever heard anyone here talk like that.

Supportive, yes, but flippant about quitting drugs or drink, no.

Perhaps you heard them wrongly?

But, I'm worried. Everyone who says "Oh, it's easy to kick the bottle, I did it." Or those people who say, "Don't worry. It's easy to break through to the other side."
you may have misunderstood someone being encouraging, to mean it is easy. If it was easy, we would not be here.
glad you are here. this is a great place.
Old 04-26-2014, 08:16 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Thank you for your kind words.

I am cutting down on my consumption. I am just so scared. It's horrible. I don't know what to do.
Old 04-26-2014, 08:17 PM
  # 5 (permalink)