Notices

New and 7 Days Sober

Old 04-20-2014, 12:08 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

New and 7 Days Sober

Hello, I'm Briana. I'm a 35 year old graduate student. And I'm an alcoholic. Alcoholism runs in my family. My alcohol consumption would have been considered "normal" for our culture until about 6 months ago, when I began drinking a bottle of wine or more a night, or half a bottle of whiskey. The last few years have been emotionally difficult, and I finally gave in and started self-medicating to mask the pain. I've been trying to quit for a few months, and finally did one week ago. I've been crying a lot without my "friend" (my only friend) to comfort me, but it feels right. This is something I need to do to finally grow up. I'm concerned about slipping, but I'm also concerned about how to explain my abstinence from alcohol to others. I'm hoping I will be able to come here for comfort and advice.
Old 04-20-2014, 12:11 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
☀️⛳️

Originally Posted by Briana79 View Post
Hello, I'm Briana. I'm a 35 year old graduate student. And I'm an alcoholic. Alcoholism runs in my family. My alcohol consumption would have been considered "normal" for our culture until about 6 months ago, when I began drinking a bottle of wine or more a night, or half a bottle of whiskey. The last few years have been emotionally difficult, and I finally gave in and started self-medicating to mask the pain. I've been trying to quit for a few months, and finally did one week ago. I've been crying a lot without my "friend" (my only friend) to comfort me, but it feels right. This is something I need to do to finally grow up. I'm concerned about slipping, but I'm also concerned about how to explain my abstinence from alcohol to others. I'm hoping I will be able to come here for comfort and advice.

Hi and welcome to a great forum, this place is full of knowledgable and wonderful people sharing life stories, and all we strive is for a happy life free of addiction.