Notices

Relapse Prevention

Old 04-15-2014, 01:33 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Relapse Prevention

This is what'll hopefully be the last day three. I've been wavering back and forth for the past 4-5 months, deciding to quit for good, deciding it's not so big a deal, deciding to quit for good, deciding it's not so big a deal, back and forth, etc., and it's only getting worse. I still haven't made a firm decision, but I'm tired of counting days only to start over again. I need to get better at identifying triggers, but I think I also need to find a way to fully convince myself that quitting for good is the only remaining option. Any advice?
Old 04-15-2014, 01:36 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

My advice is that you're absolutely right. To make recovery work you need to be fully committed. I hope that you make that choice. Make a decision that alcohol is no longer an option and you will start to find new, healthy ways to deal with life.
Old 04-15-2014, 01:38 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Just do it, ParalyzedForce. All that flip-flopping must be exhausting and discouraging. Give sobriety a true, fighting chance; see how you like it!!! We will walk with you, encourage you when dealing with the triggers, help you shoot-down the AV and celebrate your victories.
Old 04-15-2014, 01:54 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

I agree with the others and have / am right at this tipping point.

It's totally exhausting gathering up courage to face day 1 all over again. The answer is simple yet complex, never pickup that first drink again.

We need to divorce this addiction once and for all.

You can do this,
Old 04-15-2014, 02:07 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  
EndGame

Originally Posted by Anna View Post
To make recovery work you need to be fully committed.
This is often left unspoken or is easily dismissed. After all, I've gotten by when I've given a halfhearted effort in work, in my relationships and in other areas of my life.