Notices

New here.. what's up y'all

Old 03-27-2014, 05:51 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

New here.. what's up y'all

Hey everyone,

It's been quite a while since I've started reading through these forums, but it was today that I finally decided to join and try and make a change in my life. I have a pretty serious addiction to alcohol, and it's been this way for going on 15 years. I'm a musician, and I'm always around alcohol and it's kinda just been this way for as long as I can remember. I do know that anything bad that's ever happened to me has been a result of being drunk. I've done so many stupid things while drunk.. costed myself ridiculous amounts of money, but that's not even the worst of it.

I've put everyone in my life second to the booze. Lord knows I'm not suffering from not having people who love me, who would be willing to help me if I ask, but I don't feel I have it in me to ask. I tried to go to a couple of AA meetings here and there over the years, but damn, I feel ridiculous at those things and find myself staring at the floor, waiting for the damn thing to end.

My old buddy told me to write down a list of all the reasons causing me to want to quit. The list was four pages long. I have a couple of young kids, who sure as s**t don't want to grow up with a drunk daddy. Lord knows that's not fun, and I'm speaking from first hand experience here. That list had things like, not showing up for work, having crazy encounters with random women that I sure as hell wouldn't be doing if I didn't have liquor in me, making terrible decisions such as driving, texting and calling people I should not be, running around on my girlfriends, getting into some harder drugs (thankfully this isn't a problem with me, but the liquor is bad enough), and all that kinda stuff. The list goes on and on.