I am new to this and need some guidance/advice

Old 06-27-2004, 08:30 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Paused

I am new to this and need some guidance/advice

Hi everyone, and thank you so much to those that have taken the time to read this. I feel good having someone hear my story (as you know a small portion!)
I am 31, married and a nurse. My mother is an alcoholic of 17 years. Of course it doesn't stop there, my grandfather, aunt, deceased grandmother, deceased grandfather,2 uncles, grandma, step aunt, sister and man that lived with mom during my teen years are alcoholic. I won't touch a sip of alcohol because it only brings negative memories and the idea makes me ill.
I have never sought any formal help in dealing with mom's drinking. I did have counseling throughout my life, but the counselors I had were not familiar with drinking problems in families.
I don't know what has happened in my life lately in regards to mom. I am very used to dealing with having an alcoholic mother, as I have said she has had a drinking problem for over 17 years. Recently my husband and I relocated to another state (Arizona). It is a 6-7 hour drive from my family. Since I have moved here I no longer have a desire to speak to my mother or see my family. They have asked me to come visit. I don't want to call my mom. Another huge problem my mother has is that she is addicted to sex, and perscription drugs. It is so embarrasing to say, but she meets men on many different dating websites and sleeps with them averaging about 2 new men a week. (She has been doing this for about 5 years). This I am also used to. She has no clue that she does things to hurt others or herself. She is very immature, and unrealistic. She has 4 daughters,one is 13, and can't understand how any of this would affect anyone as it is her life.