Notices

Letting go of the past

Old 03-26-2014, 09:39 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Letting go of the past

I am new to recovery, received my 30 day token March 21st. I have lost so much in the last 60 days. My job, career as a registered nurse, income, respect of my colleges. My family is supportive but no one is in recovery. I cannot seem to get past my past. The should haves, could haves, would haves are driving me crazy. I think about it constantly. My family wants me to move on but I can't seem to stop. They are becoming very weary of my constant depression & talking. How did anyone else get past regretting the past??
Old 03-26-2014, 11:04 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I had to live it down first. I've been sober three years and I know there are aquintances who still think I'm a drunk.
I did a lot of bad things to the people closest to me while drinking.
I guess living all this down took a lot of time. I had to regain trust and do my best to earn it.
All I can say is time heals all wounds.
Congatulations on your 35 days. Give things awhile. We didn't turn into drinks overnight and we're not going to solve all our problems overnight, either.

Best to you.
Old 03-26-2014, 11:19 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

For what it's worth, I'm a nurse too. I also went to rehab with a nurse. Substance abuse is very very high amongst healthcare professionals. Dealing with the past has been the hardest thing for me in my recovery. In fact, I got a DUI on the very last day of nursing school and it sent me into a downward spiral. I have found that it takes time and a lot of self forgiveness to overcome the past. I've been told the 4th and 5th step in aa can really help with that too.
Old 03-26-2014, 01:49 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Thanks for replying. I am trying everyday but I can't seem to let it go.
Old 03-26-2014, 02:09 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  
Administrator