Notices

I took a big step!

Old 03-20-2014, 02:51 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Thumbs up I took a big step!

Hey all,

Well yesterday I went down to human resources and told them I have a substance abuse problem and wished to seek help. I was given FMLA paperwork and short term disability paperwork and told I can not return to work until I complete a program. So I made the phone calls and am on a waiting list to get into detox. I'm nervous, but the anxiety from not drinking is too intense. I'm 29 and have a 1 year old and don't want her to know me as just being drunk all the time.

That being said I have great support from my family (my mother is now 7 years sober), friends and my girlfriend. My concern is finally going back to work. I'm a manager and don't know what kind of response ill get going back. I worry that taking this time off will make them start finding a reason to get rid of me.

Has anyone gone down this road before with telling their employer they have a problem. They said they were proud I took initiative, but I know from being in management that an employee is only good to you when they are there.

I've been drinking heavily for 10 years now and I am up to 20+ beers on a day off and 5-7 after work. I can't go more than 12 hours without a drink before my anxiety turns into panic attack level. I'm going to continue to drink until a bed opens up in detox.

I look forward to support, and also a new life.

Thank you,

Dan
Old 03-20-2014, 02:55 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Good for you, those are HUGE steps. Way to look after your yourself and your daughter! And welcome to the board. :-)
Old 03-20-2014, 02:57 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Sober Today

I am currently in treatment and it's the best decision I could have made. Good on you for reaching out for help! I'm self-employed but many of the people in treatment with me are in your situation. I wish I could be of more help but just want to wish you luck!
Old 03-20-2014, 02:58 PM
  # 4 (permalink)