OT-Gardening Experience

Old 03-08-2014, 07:35 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

OT-Gardening Experience

Does anyone have any vegetable garden experience? I have herb boxes, which I adore and use often. Planning a vegetable garden and need tips. We had them when I was little and all my grandparents had them, so I have some experience with them. But, I have been unsuccessful in the past with tomatoes and I would like to plant some.

Questions:

1. Do you start with seeds or plants?
2. Are there tomato varieties that grow better?
3. How much shade do they need? (I have totally exposed areas and totally covered areas, not much in between).
4. What other veggies are easy to grow? Squash, cucumbers?
Old 03-08-2014, 09:30 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

1. Plants
2. What do u want to eat or taste? Big red juicy slices or something smaller and more apt for making sauces? Hybrid or heritage seed? Your Master Gardeners or local extension office may publish recommendations or even have a test garden.
3. Sun. Total sun is good for them.
4. Snap beans if you want to grow them up? Hot peppers. Pumpkins are fun.

Enjoy!
Old 03-08-2014, 09:39 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

HI

I was checking out the Burpee website and looking at the heritage tomatoes. There are so many available, but only a few with plants rather than seeds. That is a good idea about the master gardeners and agri-extension place.
Old 03-08-2014, 09:49 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

You could do both seeds and plants. I have bad watering tendencies. I drown seeds and watch my plants suffer in the summer heat... My neighbor had great success growing hers in hay bales. She had an awesome harvest that year and it is nice to have them elevated.
Old 03-08-2014, 10:04 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  

I've found that Romas are hearty and easy to grow. They're good for sauce, sandwiches, you name it. I love them.
Old 03-08-2014, 10:27 AM
  # 6 (permalink)  

Thanks.

I meant heirloom, not heritage, oops.