Notices

Newbie here

Old 03-06-2014, 02:56 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Newbie here

Hello,

I thought I would say hello after reading lots I'm 40 years old female and been drinking a bottle of wine a night almost every night for the last 20 years, this has been creeping up to a bottle and a half a night recently.

I don't crave alcohol during the day and only usually want it to relax in the evening but I do find it hard to not have a drink at night so I guess I have a problem.

I'd love to talk to people in a similar position.

Julie
Old 03-06-2014, 02:59 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Community Greeter

Welcome Julie! You are wise to be taking a look at your consumption. I think it'll really help you to be here. Glad you joined us.

In my 40's I was drinking about the same as you - but slowly it began to take more & more to achieve the same effect. 10 yrs. later I was drinking massive amounts & in deep trouble. That's when I came to SR & found the courage to change.
Old 03-06-2014, 03:01 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

This thing is progressive. It will take more and more until you are stuck wondering how to get out.

Glad you posted. Maybe try to live sober for a few weeks?
Old 03-06-2014, 03:03 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Hi Julie, welcome. I was drinking the same amount as you and realised that it was a problem. Way over the recommended limit for women and I started to obsess about not having enough in the house, is it 5 o'clock yet? Seeing my friends not drinking the same amount and I would have about 3 to their 1. It is not a normal drinking pattern and not good for our body or soul. You have done the right thing coming here. If you think you have a problem, you probably do. I know I do and want to live a life without worrying about drinking.
Old 03-06-2014, 04:35 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  
bona fido dog-lover

Welcome from a fellow wino. I drank anywhere from one to three bottles of wine a day. I finally managed to stop completely over four years ago. I only wish I'd done it sooner.