Notices

Using a crutch

Old 03-04-2014, 09:07 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Using a crutch

I don't feel the need to go into my past at the moment but know I've been fighting alcohol abuse for approx 14 years. In my last attempts to quit I eventually gave in by convincing myself my problem really wasn't that bad or I have controlled my problem better since the last year I've limited myself so much compared to my past years. It's only been one week. But I find myself having to talk myself out of those thoughts quite a bit. Does anyone have a good stradegy to stop those thoughts. I just tell myself to keep going and not give in. It's been working but it's definitely been a challenge. I thought I'd have more difficulty with my response dealing with stress than dealing with that. I find myself however using muscle relaxers, Xanax etc. to keep myself from reaching. Pouring juice into my wine glass to keep me from continuously thinking what's not there. I've heard or learned in the past that using crutches like this is a bad way to deal with sobriety. But they seem to be comforting me and helping me a great deal. I quit smoking 3 years ago by quitting cigerettes and using the electronic. I eventually stopped reaching for the electronic and was free. Has this tactics worked for anyone or am I setting myself up for failure?
Old 03-04-2014, 09:18 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Closing the gates of Oblivion

I tried to do the same thing once but just found myself a new and just as destructive addiction. I cannot touch any of it; I simply do not have the ability to control myself.

My approach to those drinking thoughts is to literally say out loud "Shut Up"! I had to do it today a few times. I say it forcefully and loud to stop the AV. It acts like a reset button for me.

I suggest trying a few different approaches to curbing the desire and thoughts to see what really works for you. If it were me, I would dump the pills, just another mind-numbing drug like alcohol.