Notices

Hit rock bottom

Old 02-28-2014, 06:51 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
RaleighSoxFan

Hit rock bottom

So I am new here. I thought I hit rock bottom in September of 2013. I got a DWI and hit & run with my wife in the car. My drinking increased though and we got a separation. I've been a bartender and bar manager for almost 15 years. So going into February I was a 35 year old man living with his mother and I was an alcoholic. What my family didn't know was I was getting bombed every night after work and driving home.

On February 7 I was arrested for my 4th DWI. I blew a .25. My family let me stay in Jail for 3 weeks before bonding me out. I detoxed there. I face 3-6 months of jail, have no job, no wife, and have an uphill battle with sobriety.......

But I'm sober. I'm alive. I have done this before. I have a drive to quit for good. I stopped for nearly a year in 2011. Monday I start groups. 90 hours of extensive outpatient. I'm coupling that with AA and looking into inpatient as well. I'm working out daily again. And I'm learning to deal with my anxiety and stress as a natural part of life. I can do this.
Old 02-28-2014, 06:54 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Psalm 118:24

There are still worse bottoms out there too.

Good luck to you
Old 02-28-2014, 06:55 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Community Greeter

Yes you can do it Forghetti. You sound ready and determined. You can reclaim your life and rebuild everything.

Welcome to SR - it's so good to have you here. This is the best place to be for encouragement and support.
Old 02-28-2014, 07:00 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
RaleighSoxFan

Thanks to you guys. And YES captain, you are correct.
Old 02-28-2014, 07:01 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  
bona fido dog-lover

Welcome to the SR family. Yes, it could be worse. And yes, you can do this and come out stronger on the other side. I hope the support here can help you get sober for good.
Old 02-28-2014, 07:06 PM
  # 6 (permalink)  
RaleighSoxFan