Notices

New member, looking for support

Old 02-24-2014, 04:53 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

New member, looking for support

Hi all. I'm just beginning to come to terms with the idea that my drinking is out of control. I am not a daily drinker, but a binge drinker. My husband and I drink on the weekends--have done so for the past 10 years--and for me that means drinking until I pass out nearly every time. If I could manage only a bottle of wine that would be an excellent night for me. Usually I have something like 10 drinks (I'm very petite so this is quite significant), and sneak some behind my husbands back and beg him for more if he tells me we're done. Then I somehow teleport to bed where I wake the next day feeling sick and ashamed. Not pretty.

My life is not a "wreck", but I do suffer near weekly blackouts and I hate having to read my husband's face to try and see what level of stupid I reached the night before since I can't usually remember. He also drinks quite a lot but has a level of control over it that I haven't ever. I've tried to cut back, quit, take a month off, and the longest I've gone (aside from pregnancy) was three weeks.

My parents were both alcoholics, but in the daily drinking, hide their bottles around the house, violent outburst, DUI kind of way. I have told myself for 10 years that I can't have a problem since I'm nothing like them. My husband and I are financially stable with good community standing. We have well behaved, high achieving children. I've never come close to being in trouble with the law, or anything of that nature. No one would guess that when I start drinking, it feels impossible for me to stop.