Go Back  SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information > Friends and Family > Friends and Family of Alcoholics
Reload this Page >

I am trying to help my son with his pain meds./herion addiction

Old 02-22-2014, 05:53 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

This is my first time on here so please bear with me. My son is 29, moved back in with us because of his addiction to pain meds.now herion. He says he wants help,but I'm not sure he knows how to get it.

He checked himself in to a crisis center which lasted one day because it was cold, too many people,etc.etc. He goes to meetings,so he says. Bottom line is hes been here about 3 months, I thought he was doing good,but come to find out he has still been using. I dont know what to do anymore, he says he wants help but unless he truly does I dont see how we can help him.

Theres so much I can go on about. Can anyone share some kind of light at the end of the tunnel?
Old 02-22-2014, 06:04 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Forum Leader

Hello phuddy25, Welcome to SR!

I'm so sorry for all the brings you here, but I am glad you found us. This is a wonderful and supportive place!

I won't lie to you...heroin is a tough nut to crack. Your son has to really want to be clean more than he wants anything else--enough to do whatever it takes. You are right, there really isn't much you can do except put boundaries in place about acceptable behavior around you and in your home. You can continue to encourage him to do that next right thing.

I am worried about you, and the fact that you now have an active heroin user living with you--son or not.

I hope you will spend some time reading around the boards here. It was really an education for me when I first arrived. My stepson is one of several alcoholics/addicts in my life.

Here is a thread about how many times through the recovery process it takes for a heroin user to finally kick their habit--for those who are finally successful.
http://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/...-10-times.html