Notices

New to this all....

Old 02-21-2014, 05:13 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

New to this all....

I am new to this world of recovery. I am recently divorced from my second husband (both were alcoholics). I am in a relationship of sorts (we are just companions - it currently seems to work for both of us; neither wanting a commitment; just mutual respect of one another and time hanging out and doing things together) with a recovering alcoholic who has 16 yrs sober. I have started to attend alanon meetings over the last couple of months; maybe 12 in total. I find the stories alot like my own; I am nervous to share; I am nervous everytime I go.

I wonder if I am in the right place as far as my relationship goes with my companion. I need recovery for myself. I definitely have lost control of managing my own life. in the last year I have filed for divorce; sold my marital home; moved; and now just lost my job. The compounded feelings of that mixed in with not knowing how to act around my current companion is making me nuts. I care about him; i enjoy our time together but if he doesnt get his way; isnt the one who came up with the idea; or it isnt when and how he wants things to happen (going to the gym, or shopping or out for a day of fun) than he is a total jerk towards me; but always seems to blame me for it. His favorite line, "this is YOU! You bring this, not me." How is it me all of the time? I take responsibility sometimes, but not always.

The other day, he mentioned that he is tired of dealing with me as a b*tch; I was deeply hurt by that statement. then I turn into protective mode and can be somewhat cold and standoffish. I am only reacting to how he is treating me. I dont want to fight. I am afraid to say anything that will challenge him; but I dont want to just conform I do have opinions of things.