New Comer to Al-Anon

Old 02-19-2014, 12:14 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

New Comer to Al-Anon

I am new to these form, but I am looking for help. My husband of 15 years has been a alcoholic and he will not accept that he is. He lost a good paying job in 2011, we lost both vehicle and almost out home.
months ago he tried to strangle me as he was yelling I am going to kill you. I caught him texting another women. He has been removed from our home and is wait for his court hearing. We have been able to text with the approval of the court. He has told me he is never coming back and he is starting a new life. I feel he is blaming me for everything. I am going to therapy, attending a divorcecare class and went to mu 1st Al-Anon meeting last night.
Can anyone please give me any advise. I feel so lost.
Old 02-19-2014, 12:28 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome, butterfly--so sorry you are in this bad situation, but glad that you found your way here. Every single one of us here understands where you're at; you can feel free to speak your mind and heart here.

I'm really glad you've already been to Alanon--they can provide a lot of support and education for you in the real world. I hope you keep going to meetings. You also might benefit from reading some of the Alanon literature. Your local library may have some available. If not, you can find a lot on Amazon, and the used items are quite reasonably priced.

It's common for the alcoholic to blame everything and everyone else for their problems; you are not alone in being told you are the cause of your A's drinking and so on. You may have already heard in Alanon about the 4 C's--you didn't Cause his drinking, you can't Control it, and you can't Cure it. Everything he says with regards to that is simply untrue, so don't let it get to you.