Notices

Hi There- newbie :)

Old 02-18-2014, 09:10 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hi There- newbie :)

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to this space & am just trying to figure it out.

My primary addiction is to marijuana, but alcohol is an issue too, as it has been part of a few relapses on weed, and I'm not "managing" the attempt at social drinking very well it seems. So I'm trying to go entirely sober & it's definitely not easy, as my denial isn't convinced as much as hitting bottom with weed & getting into recovery a year & a half ago. But I know the dangers of addiction, and am scared of my interest in other drugs & know full sobriety and dedication to an active program have to happen. I'm really at a weak point.

The Marijuana Anonymous community is smaller, and I haven't been able to find a Sponsor that works. The only one that I had fell apart early on. I'm also having a hard time w/ a few people in the fellowship, especially one guy who is at every single meeting & irritates the daylights out of me right now- like, I can't take it. I think familiarity really does breed contempt! I am even reluctant to get into it bec. Boston is so small, and I'm worried he'll see this, but seriously- it is hard to deal w/ the personalities sometimes. A good friend of mine in San Francisco said his Sponsor has him sit right next to the people who he thinks are full of crap. Ha! And pray for them! so maybe that is what I should do too. Maybe letting someone get to me is part of my own character challenge.