Notices

I need your help

Old 02-10-2014, 07:24 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I need your help

My brother is currently in rehab for xanax, klonopin, valium, oxycodone, and whatever else he could get his hands on. I love my brother very much, but I know I can only support him and be there for him. This is where I need your help.

I do graphic design for a living. I know I can't design something that will free him from his addiction. I understand this is a battle that he has to face with himself, BUT I want to help him the only way I know how...through design. My first thought is making him a journal/calendar with inspiration quotes, that way while he tracks his journey, he has extra support. The question I have for you is, what tools do you wish you had while going through rehab? Please throw out ANY idea you have.

Thank You
Old 02-10-2014, 07:28 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Sober since 10th April 2012

hi Whilton, welcome to SR. There are lots of people here who are living with a loved one's addiction. Can I suggest you repost in Friends and Family of Substance Abusers? That will put you in touch with others who can give much better responses than me.
Old 02-10-2014, 07:33 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi whilton - welcome

I've never been through rehab myself, but I do know of a few threads that may help you with quotes

http://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/...p-you-get.html
http://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/...-us-think.html
http://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/...ng-quotes.html
http://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/...ositively.html

and we also have a forum dedicated to such things:
Inspirations, Thoughts, Poems, & Sayings - SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

best wishes to you and your brother
D
Old 02-10-2014, 07:36 PM
  # 4 (permalink)