Notices

Just can't seem to "get it"....

Old 02-10-2014, 02:27 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Unhappy Just can't seem to "get it"....

Really struggling with the desire to stop drinking.

I have this cycle. I've been relapsing for the last 7 years. It took me a few years to actually grasp the concept of sobriety and never drinking again.

My problem now is - my desire seems to come and go as it pleases. I've had plenty of "bottoms" of varying depths… some emotional, some physical. Terrible things have happened. I've lost jobs, relationships, legal trouble, DUI's and car accidents, landed myself in treatment 3 times. The list goes on, I'm sure many of you can relate.

I get to this point of desperation, usually after a binge of some sort. I desperately want sobriety and in that moment, in that day, I am willing to do whatever it takes to not ever pick up a drink again. I never want to feel the way I'm feeling again. I'm excited about a new life in sobriety. I attend meetings regularly, talk to my sponsor, start working the steps, start fixing my life.

My problem is, that I can never seem to hold on to that feeling of desperation. Could be days, could be weeks, could be months later. But I always find myself at a place where I change my mind on the whole sober thing. The thought of a drink creeps in. And then my desire to drink starts getting stronger. And stronger. And stronger. The longer I "hold on" to sobriety and keep doing what I'm supposed to be doing, the stronger the urge gets. Until I decide that a drink is a good idea. Or maybe not even a good idea, but it's the only option, in order to get out of my white knuckling. I need to feel the warmth of a drink, I need to escape myself, and my desire to pick up completely demolishes my desire to stay sober.

And the cycle starts again.

I don't understand how other people seem to hold on to this feeling of desperation. Why can't I? What am I doing wrong?