Notices

Struggling

Old 02-09-2014, 07:25 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Struggling

This is my first time to ever post anything on a forum, but here it goes. This past November I celebrated 2 years being clean and sober. My first year out of rehab I spent trying to figure out this new life I was living and trying to fit back in. The second year was great. I really accepted that I was an addict and knew without a doubt I could never go back to that life, nor did I ever want to. But now I am here and the urge to use or drink is so overwhelming I feel like I can't even function. I feel like I can't do this anymore. It's so much harder to stay sober when I feel so exhausted, mentally and physically. I find myself not wanting to talk to my true friends, yet wondering what my old friends are up to and how they seem to be having fun. I feel like my mouth is watering and just the thought of a drink or the thought of getting high. Feeling emotions is the hardest thing to do being sober. The raw emotions of anger, frustration, and sadness sometimes are just too much to bear. I absolutely hate being an addict.
Old 02-09-2014, 07:29 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
waking down

Keep writing. Draw. Create. Work if you have to. Walk. Do crunches. Meditate. Play a game. Hug someone if you can, and ask them to help you get through this.

Thoughts and emotions come and go. Only you know what you went through before, during, and immediately after rehab. Remember that.
Old 02-09-2014, 07:31 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
waking down

Maybe go to the gratitude threads and post some positive thoughts. Read what people have written there. It's easy to get stuck in the negativity. I'm working on getting stuck in positivity. There's a balance of both. What do we want to focus on?
Old 02-09-2014, 07:32 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
waking down

Welcome, by the way. This place is full of loving people who have helped me out considerably.
Old 02-09-2014, 07:33 PM
  # 5 (permalink)