Notices

Trying to understand the mind of a recovering addict.. help!

Old 02-06-2014, 06:30 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Red face Trying to understand the mind of a recovering addict.. help!

Hey everybody,
I am brand new to this so I will try to keep this short and simple, but I would appreciate any and all insight and advice.

I am dating a recovering addict and I just wanted some advice from either someone in the same position as me, or even all of the recovering addicts out there. Let me pick your brain!
I've noticed that my bf is very snappy at times, and very quick to get loud, when my tone is normal. He thinks I am trying to always attack him when I am never doing that.
I want to understand the addict's mind better so I know what triggers certain reactions, so I know what not to do!
I caught him in a very small lie, that shouldn't have even been lied about. it was very stupid on his part to even lie. But he explained that it was a reactive lie, a compulsive thing that he's used to. Is this normal? Should I be worried that I will be lied to more often and that this will be his excuse?

Ok folks, please type awayyyyyyyyyyyy
Old 02-06-2014, 06:44 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Not all addicts are alike, of course, so no one can tell you what's going on with your boyfriend.

Have you considered AlAnon as a support for yourself?
Old 02-06-2014, 06:54 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

He may just be an A$$hole. His personality may having nothing to do with being a recovering addict but then again it may have everything to do with it. I don't know him so it is difficult to say. I do know that small insignificant lies are common with addicts until they become bigger significant lies. His behavior may be a sign of a relapse. How long have you known him and have you known him sober and as a active user?
Old 02-06-2014, 07:10 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

I don't have a good feeling about this guy as you've described. My gut feeling tells me you may want pass on this one.