Notices

New guy here

Old 02-06-2014, 09:55 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

New guy here

Hello all. My name is Grant. I'm a 44 year old firefighter and live in Spokane, WA.

I am married to an alcohol dependent addict. I hate every minute of it. I am tired of the constant lies, the hidden bottles, the smell of vodka on her breath, the 8 p.m. pass out.

She absolutely refuses to get help. I have tried everything to get her to see she is ruining our marriage. She just doesn't care enough I guess.

The way I found this forum was, I googled, "how to live with an alcoholic wife".

I look forward to my experience here. Thank you all for accepting me.
Old 02-06-2014, 10:14 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome, Grant. There is a section of this forum specifically devoted to partners of alcoholics, you should check that out.

This forum is a great support site. I think you'll find many people here willing to listen to you and share their experiences.

And, as a recovering alcohol addict myself, I feel that it may not be accurate to say that "she doesn't care enough". To an addict, nothing else matters when they are in the depths of their addiction, least of all their own personal well-being. It's like we can't think of things clearly. There's a constant shadow surrounding our thoughts that clouds our judgements. The positive thing is that as long as there are alcoholics in the world, there will be people who quit drinking. Is she willing to get help?
Old 02-06-2014, 10:40 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Hears The Voice

Originally Posted by Hoytshot View Post
She absolutely refuses to get help. I have tried everything to get her to see she is ruining our marriage. She just doesn't care enough I guess.
The most baffling and frustrating part of addiction is continued use despite persistent negative consequences.