Notices

What/Who caused you become an alcoholic?

Old 02-03-2014, 10:49 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

What/Who caused you become an alcoholic?

*I have not drunk for 5 days. I am attempting to quit for the 1000th time.

In my case, it was my mother. If I tried to tell her that over the last 20 years that I started failing and enjoyed failing to spite her then she would protest that she only ever loved me as much as she could and did everything for me and that she was an orphan and had nobody who loved her and well.....thats my point to her.

You see, she didnt know how to love. She wasnt loving me, she was possessing me, owning me. And this meant that anytime I tried to tell her my feelings and needs it literally did not register in her head. She always did what she thought I needed, or what she thought was being a good mother.

I have one perfect example, but it is one of 1000s of examples and drove me to total despair and the loss of the will to succeed.
I started playing Bassoon when I was in Year 7. I passed my Bassoon Grade 1 exam and then she put the certificate in a frame and on the wall. Ok, that seems normal. But the next year when I got Grade 2 she put that as well in a frame and put it on the wall next to my Grade 1 framed certificate (Same size certificates, new frame).
Then after Grade 3, and I was starting to become aware of things being not what is normal I asked her to take down the old certificates since if I have Grade 3 then obviously I am better than 1 and 2.
She refused.
So the next year I jumped Grade 4, didn't do it, and went straight to Grade 5
(I realise now it was to spite her, I thought then that she would click that there is no Grade 4, so shouldnt she be ashamed that I did not do Grade 4?)
She went and put up Grade 5 next to 1,2 and 3.