Notices

Hello! Newcomer here!

Old 01-22-2014, 11:45 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hello! Newcomer here!

Hello Everyone,

So, I found this site last week and have been voraciously reading everything my lil paws can click on! I'm a female mental health therapist that does not specialize in addictions. However, I've come to realize that I'm also codependent and my wife of 4 years, together for 8, is a raging alcoholic.

I've decided that I can no longer take the verbal abuse, lying, sloppy drinking, blackouts, passing out in random locations of the house, and cheating texts anymore. I've decided, helped along by my own therapy, that I deserve more! I will be 36 next month and she is 39. She makes more then double what I make and has uses her money to control me throughout the entirety of our relationship.

Is this normal for alcoholics? She has preyed on my emotions and innate empathy and kindness in order so that she may have the "power and control." She was scared to death of ending up like her parents, the mother spending more money faster then daddy can make it and daddy being unable to retire due to the need for more money. As she always took care of me, and always had plenty of money, I never bothered to save and now find myself pretty well in a financial pickle. I will NOT, however, continue to let her control me and stop me from leaving due to finances.

I've moved in with a friend that I've had since the 6th grade. She also makes double what I make. Take note people, therapists are POOR! We do not make much money! I owe damn near my salary in student loans! Anyway, I find myself slipping into self pity and wanting to know what the wife is doing. I stop by the house every day to feed my lizard (its been too cold to transport him, soon as weather breaks I will move him to a friends house) and I see her continuing to drink herself to death! She goes through Huge bottles of absolute every two days!