Notices

mom who does not understand

Old 01-20-2014, 04:32 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

mom who does not understand

I have never done a forum before so bare with me. My son has been an addict that I know of for the last 7 yrs. He found his father dead in his bed and since then has never been the same. He was always a troubled child and I think this just added to his inability to cope with life. I have done everything under the sun to help him with no luck. I just saw him the other day and I had not seen him for a month and could not believe what I was seeing. He weighed about 75 pounds his face was all scabbed up. My son is killing himself and I feel so helpless.
Old 01-20-2014, 04:37 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

I'm sorry rmucat. I can only imagine how tough that must be for you.

I'm glad you found us tho - there's a lot of support here and in our Family and Friends forums too.

http://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/...ly-alcoholics/
http://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/...tance-abusers/

Have you ever considered something like AlAnon for yourself?

D
Old 01-20-2014, 04:38 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
bona fido dog-lover

Welcome to the family.

If your son is of legal age and independent there's not much you can do for him, sorry to say. The addict himself has to want to get clean, we can't 'make' them want it.

We have a forum here dedicated to those whose lives are touched by addiction. Give it a look. The people there understand what you're going thru.

Friends and Family of Substance Abusers - SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information
Old 01-20-2014, 04:41 PM
  # 4 (permalink)