Quitting my job and changing my life.

Old 01-16-2014, 05:31 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Quitting my job and changing my life.

I have a plan to leave my job at the end of March. I am going to tell my boss at the beginning of February so we have plenty of time to train someone new. I am an office manager at a very small dental practice, and the place was in shambles when I got here three years ago. I've implemented a lot of things that have improved production, customer service, and acquiring new patients. My boss is grateful and we're on good terms, but she's extremely passive aggressive and negative. It used to bother me sooooo much, but I've learned how to detach.

What's making me anxious is that she's going through a lot of crap right now, and I am worried about what her reaction to my leaving will be. (I know, it's pointless). Her mom died two weeks ago, while she was gone a pipe burst in her house and destroyed two floors, and we are moving the office on March 21. I plan on helping and coordinating the move, but as soon as it's done I'm going to be leaving. I'm concerned about all kinds of things that really are not my responsibility or for me to worry about, and I actually feel guilty for leaving her at this time.

The events of the past year have made me realize that I rarely put myself first. That I've become scared of change. That's not the kind of person I want to be. I am a freelance writer and really want to build my own business. My father is retired but still has a lot of opportunities that I can take advantage of to make money. He's wonderful and always supports me in whatever I do.