Notices

NA V's AA V's Hybrid

Old 01-16-2014, 05:15 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

NA V's AA V's Hybrid

I had an interesting conversation this evening after an AA meeting, not to dissimilar to one I had several weeks ago at another AA meeting.

A little about me, I have a history of addiction. I am in my late 50's. I look healthy for my age and lifestyle and am told that I have a nice face.

I am currently 67 days sober, I have been attempting to get and stay sober for the last 4 years and in that time the longest period of sobriety has been 5 months, lots of 1 mths and 2 mths 2 weeks etc.

Alcohol did not become a serious problem for me till my mid 40's. I had started the occasional drink around 40ish.

Prior to that I had maintained complete sobriety for about 12 years.

I had an opiate addiction for 15 years and then when I finally got straight I was 28, I then did a methadone plan for a 12mths taper to nil.

Heres the thing, I had been in different rehabs during that 15 years of addiction and had tried to get straight and failed many times.
When I finally succeeded in the end with the aid of methadone taper and really a RR, AVERT, style of recovery.
Using just was not an option and any thoughts of using was quickly shut down by me.
Everything I did physically, mentally and emotionally was to move forward in my life and know that I would never use again.

I am doing a hybrid style of recovery this time.
My plan is to move forward in my life sober forever and do what ever that takes. The tools I am using to support me are here SR and RR, AVERT style and I wanted to do a few AA meetings a month. I like the face to face and hearing the similarities and identify...Early days.

Tonight, I identify, addict, alcoholic, yada yada.

After the meeting, a young man whose only substance of abuse was alcohol suggested that NA would be better for me.