Notices

Another newbie

Old 01-14-2014, 01:18 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Another newbie

So this is day one...again. I joined because I feel I will need some support, and there's something about talking online that I couldn't do in AA. I'm only 25, but am already afraid for my health. Little backstory, I am a music composer - that's where it starts. I have always felt I needed the drink to be creative. Some of my best work has come from, not just being buzzed, but so drunk that my mind is completely clear. I also use it as a crutch when going in public. I cannot be around people. I'm too scared of them, and if I drink a little, I can keep the panic away.

It also doesn't help living in Los Angeles, where the thing to do is get drinks every night to meet and network. I've done well at not going out to the bars the past few months, but that has only caused me to be, what L.A. calls, anti-social. The good thing with composing is that I can work alone, which I enjoy; but, being alone makes me drink more and more. I write every day - so, I drink every day. But now I have realized that I want to live more than I want to create great work. Part of it just scares me that I'll never create anything good again.

So, today is day one. Knowing I can't drink has made me eat. I can't go from one addiction to the next. Any advice for the first two weeks? I have tried many times to quit, but usually only make it a week. How to get through the second week?

Sorry for the long post. Thanks.

Last edited by MrArtist; 01-14-2014 at 01:22 PM. Reason: Added text
Old 01-14-2014, 01:54 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome MrArtist

It's not easy reaching out for help with this even if it's online... I'm new to this as well but have found this place very helpful.. There are many on here with years of sobriety under their belt and many like us just starting off..
Old 01-14-2014, 01:56 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Welcome to the Forum!! you find loads of support!!
Old 01-14-2014, 02:01 PM