Notices

Feelimg ugh

Old 01-12-2014, 09:48 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Feelimg ugh

I am new to recovery and I guess I am becoming very depressed about this. I am feeling very isolated and just not present, no I am not having dissociative feelings, I just feel like I can't live my life. It is not that I am overwhelmed it is just I do not feel able to participate in anything. This past week I have left my house only to work and go running alone. The only person I feel comfortable around is my 19 month old son, I feel strange around other friends, family, work colleagues. I don't know what to do with myself. Physically I feel okay. Mentally I feel pretty okay for the most part I just feel awkward in all interpersonal situations. I can tell that even though it hasn't been that long that even my fiancé is becoming frustrated with my inability to do anything or even really talk to him. Anyone experience anything similar?
Old 01-12-2014, 11:53 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I sometimes have the same feelings. Perhaps it is PAWS?
Old 01-12-2014, 12:05 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Behold the power of NO

It's good to hear from you and that you are still sober. Have you checked out the Women For Sobriety meeting yet? It is very tempting to isolate and a lot of alcoholics are great at isolating this is why it is a good idea to have f2f support.
Also while depression and anxiety are fairly usual for newly sober people, if I remember well, that dingbat of an X sponsor had talked you into getting off your meds. Maybe you could check in with your doctor and be honest with him/her that at the time you were drinking but now you are sober???
Old 01-12-2014, 12:53 PM
  # 4 (permalink)