Notices

Advice Please: Going Back to Work

Old 01-08-2014, 11:01 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Advice Please: Going Back to Work

Hi-

Has anyone else returned to work after an extended leave for medical reasons (also known as treatment)?

I'm feeling anxious and nervous about it and wondering if any of you have gone through the experience and if so, any words of advice of how you handled coworkers and your role would be greatly appreciated.

Old 01-08-2014, 11:08 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

I haven't Inca - but I know others will have

D
Old 01-08-2014, 11:17 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I work in the medical field and had to be treated by my work colleagues for a condition which is directly a result of my alcoholism. I thought that I might die of shame and embarrassment but I didn't. On return to work people have been amazing with words of support or have just treated me the same. My sobriety is the most important thing in my life followed by my family and close friends. If people judge or think badly of me then that's their business. I can't control it do let it go. I also know for a fact that other people are not perfect and have their own issues. Most people really don't care what we have done unless it directly affects them. I hope returning to work goes well for you. Hold your head up high and be proud of yourself for facing your demons and seeking treatment.
Old 01-08-2014, 11:23 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

I have gone back to work after being out for treatment. I was just mentioning my 2 weeks of rehab that I was out of work for. I had a lot of anxiety about it when I went back.. Coworkers wanting an explanation, trying to get back into the routine etc. Just remember, you don't owe them an in depth explanation. If you want to let everybody know you were sick, leave it at that. Just tell them you don't want to talk about it.
Old 01-09-2014, 01:33 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  

I did yes,