Go Back  SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information > Friends and Family > Friends and Family of Alcoholics
Reload this Page >

How can you tell for sure if your spouse is an Alcoholic and has a prescription prob?

How can you tell for sure if your spouse is an Alcoholic and has a prescription prob?

Old 01-02-2014, 07:18 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hello,
This is my first time on this site. I am a mother of 3 small children (8 boy, 6 boy, 4 girl). I work full time. I do not drink or take prescriptions.
I do however, believe I am married to an alcoholic and abuser of prescribed (and recently non prescribed) medications. My husband in unemployed and does not do the homemaker - full time Daddy thing. Instead, our children are in day care after school until I pick them up after work.

I think he may have always had a problem with drinking and I just was blind to it since he didn't really drink around me and the kids (other than beer). However, now that all the kids are in day care and I had my own homework to do (went back to school online), I have have to extend my awake hours. Since I would wake up in the wee hours of the morning, I have seen this "other" life of my husband all too often.

He's not a raging drunk, or even a laugh out loud life of the party drinker, he's a "quietly drink too much then eventually pass out" kind of drinker.
He usually does his drinking (that I can tell) late at night. He also takes a variety of medications for depression and anxiety (and recent got some valium non presribed from India). Most days (weekdays and weekends) he will sleep til from anywhere til 12 noon to as late as 4 p.m. (it really depends on if he knows he has to be somewhere that day).