I'm like a moth to a flame

Old 12-30-2013, 03:41 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I'm like a moth to a flame

There is definitely something wrong with me and I can see how I perpetuate some of AH's behavior. I have been flirting back and forth with AH last night and this morning and then I called him this afternoon to tell him something funny just because and I had to hang up before he answered so I could put an end to my own nonsense.

HELLO!!! Where is my brain?! This fool has treated me worse than anyone I've ever known! WHY am I flirting with him?! I shouldn't even really be talking to him unless its regarding our kids, dog or money. Argh!!!!

Counseling appointment is set for next week and it can't get here soon enough.
Old 12-30-2013, 03:55 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Think Stockholm Syndrome. You need the person that made you feel the worst to make things all better for you. I graduated from that school.

(((((((((((hugs)))))))))))
Old 12-30-2013, 04:00 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by amy55 View Post
Stockholm Syndrome
:/ I can't remember what that is. I remember talking about it in a criminal justice course I took in college. Heading to Google. I guess I wasn't too far off when I told my mom he's a terrorist.

Last edited by Stung; 12-30-2013 at 04:01 PM. Reason: ***to clarify, terrorist in that he terrorizes me.
Old 12-30-2013, 04:23 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Stockholm Syndrome in a relationship really refers to constantly expecting the person that hurt you to make things better. It's like we need validation from them, without that, we keep questioning ourselve. We will take the littlest crumbs that are offered waiting for a big payoff that never comes.

Stockholm Syndrome was from the bank robbery in Stockholm. They were given little bits of hope, along with being held captive. They grabbed onto the hope, and possibly love. When released, they would not testify against the bank robbers that held them hostage. They wanted to save them.