Notices

First Timer

Old 12-27-2013, 08:30 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

First Timer

Not quite sure what to say, except that I think I'm ready to join a sober community. Over the past year or so I've tried cutting back on my drinking (which rarely worked), and now sadly I'm planning vacations and road trips based on the ease of buying or bringing my own alcohol along. I've never been arrested or had any legal ramifications relating to my drinking but that was pure luck- I could've been pulled over at pretty much any point in the past year and been under the influence or with an open container. Giving up drinking scares me. I'm scared about what feelings and emotions I've been repressing for the last 6-7 years. I'm scared that I won't like the person I've become without alcohol. I'm scared that my friends and coworkers will come to know my secret. I'm scared that my commitment to drink for 7 years has compromised my ability to live the next 7 well.
Old 12-27-2013, 08:39 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome to SR Zalie!
Old 12-27-2013, 08:48 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

H Zalie, and welcome. Yep, giving up drinking is scary. It is taking on a whole new way of life. It can be done, though, and you are in an excellent place for support and strategies to help you start stacking up sober days. Keep reading and posting. I believe in you!
Old 12-27-2013, 10:34 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
bona fido dog-lover

to the family. Giving up drinking can be scary but the rewards of living a sober life are worth it.
Old 12-27-2013, 10:48 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Welcome to SR, Zalie. The good people here have a lot of support and helpful advice to offer. This place has been instrumental in my recovery. Good luck. I am glad you are here with us.
Old 12-27-2013, 10:55 AM
  # 6 (permalink)  
Clear Eyes Full Heart

Welcome Zalie! You've come to a great place.