Notices

Friday 12/20 is day 1

Old 12-19-2013, 06:59 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Friday 12/20 is day 1

Hi, I am new. I have been reading for a long time but have never posted. I have been drinking 14 to 24 ounces of bourbon since my divorce in 2005. I also have very bad anxiety. My therapist thinks my drinking is making it worse. The last few weeks it has been horrible and I have been drinking more. I am not doing my regular activities because I am too freaked to drive there. I am a single mother of three children. I went to my Dr and told her about my drinking, she prescribed lorazapam to prevent bad withdrawl.

I am so scared, I am afraid quitting will kill me; I don't want DT's or seizure. I am going to do it anyway....just really very scared..I hope I can do it
Old 12-19-2013, 07:05 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

YOU CAN DO THIS!!!! Countless others have walked the same path and keep walking...you can too! There is room on this road for everyone

It isn't going to be easy but it will most definitely be worth it. YOU are worth it.
Old 12-19-2013, 07:11 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Community Greeter

Welcome carebear - it's great you found us. This is a wonderful place where we all understand you.

I was afraid of letting go of it too. Even though in the end it brought me nothing but misery. I thought it was helping to keep me calm, but it did just the opposite. My anxiety was through the roof. You do not need it. Try to look forward to the wonderful new life you're going to have when you're free of it. We know you can do it.
Old 12-19-2013, 07:15 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Thank you both....I am just soooooooo scarred
Old 12-19-2013, 07:35 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  
Canine Welfare Advocate

Welcome to SR.

You are in a terrible loop. The drinking is making you anxious, the anxiety is making you scared to quit.

But quitting is the solution. You've seen your doctor, takes your meds as she's directed and you will be okay.

And stay close to SR.
Old 12-19-2013, 07:41 PM