Notices

The Difference the "Days" Make

Old 12-13-2013, 08:18 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

The Difference the "Days" Make

I am still in residential, working in groups, and attending meetings daily. I haven't drank since being admitted to detox the Monday before last.

At one time, I had 2 years without a drink. But, I picked back up and the "why" doesn't matter to me anymore...(though I've ruminated over, and shared that story time and again as my "reason") I picked back up almost 7 years ago. So, reason schmeason.

Since then, I've "quit" for this many days, that many weeks, maybe even a month here and there.

You know what I'm thinking tonight guys?? I'm done counting. I'm not that good at math anyway... I just don't care "how many" anymore.

It doesn't make me feel better to have a number. I don't feel greater than or less than, because the answer to my problem isn't a number. Right?

They say "day by day", "hour by hour", "minute by minute", even just "second by second". This obsessive counting!! It feels more like waiting for a bus when you're running late. It's like a trigger for me! WTS?

Do you ever feel that way? I do... But, I'm not sure why.

I'm working hard at staying in the present. Getting to know myself in this moment. Staying in my body. Being comfortable in my skin, no matter the circumstance. Accepting my comfort or discomfort, emotions, and thoughts. Accepting myself. I can only do that NOW.

Counting, calculating, timing, anticipating, measuring... It feels very obsessive to me in a way. Does that make sense? It's feels like some twisted reminder of how much FURTHER I'm slipping from what I've always used as my escape hatch. In my mind, that provokes anxiety. I can't help but wonder how that's useful...

The reality is- the door is right there. It will always be right there. I can open it in 5 seconds, or 2 minutes, in 1 hour, even in 20 years. So many variables!! 5 seconds from?? 2 minutes from?? 1 hour from?? 20 years from?????