Notices

Day 1 begins

Old 12-05-2013, 01:59 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Day 1 begins

Hi all,
So this is day 1 for me. I have been drinking for 30 years, started at age 14. I am now up to 2 bottles of wine each night. I wake up each day saying that I will not drink and then around 5 it seems like a great idea. I am SO sick of it. I have gained 25 pounds just in the last year. So I am coming here for support and plan on hanging out here in the evenings instead of drinking wine. Nervous about this evening and dont trust my thoughts anymore.
Old 12-05-2013, 02:01 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Kaleidoscope eyes

You can do it. My situation was very similar to yours. I am usually about if you fancy a chat. Good luck!
Old 12-05-2013, 02:02 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Welcome Kathy! You've come to the right place. You'll find tons of support here.
Old 12-05-2013, 02:03 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi and welcome Kathy - you've found a great place for support

D
Old 12-05-2013, 02:06 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Welcome, I also was little like you but was a 5th a day drinker, there are great people here for you have found a lot. need help just post, SR will respond
Old 12-05-2013, 02:16 AM
  # 6 (permalink)  

Welcome Kathy! Good for you for "stepping up"! With the holiday season approaching it can be a tough time to quit....but YOU CAN DO THIS I know...I got sober (the first time on November 11, 1991). Eventually relapsed BUT....I got a few years of sobriety under my belt that time....I remember going to a SOBER New Year's Eve party! That was a FIRST....lol....just the fact that I remember it is an amazing fact! Lots of support here, and many who have experience just what you have. Look around the forums....take what you like and leave the rest Post a LOT....I know that has helped me....all the best....Day 51 for me this time...YAY!
Old 12-05-2013, 02:31 AM
  # 7 (permalink)  
Hears The Voice