Notices

Not giving in!!!

Old 11-26-2013, 09:18 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Not giving in!!!

I have this obsessive thought that won't seem to go away no matter how much I try to ignore it.

A holiday, any holiday was always an excuse for me to drink excessive amounts of alcohol. It was justified.

This is the first time in my life I have been serious about staying sober. Since I am new to this i have this uncontrollable thought that I will drink on Thursday... Alcohol will be there and I have to go. I read the holiday survival guide that was posted by Dee, I love it. I read it 5 times

I guess what I'm getting at is, I need to snap out of it and find a way to stop obsessing. So instead of ignoring this urge I will take it head on by reminding myself why I shouldn't drink... Our mind is so good at suppressing reasons not to.
I don't intend for this post to be negative, but instead I want it to be real. So......

I shouldn't give into the urge and drink Thursday because......... I don't want to wake up In the morning hating myself.

If anyone else cares to share please do
Old 11-26-2013, 09:27 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Sober from 11/19/13-1/18/14

I'm feeling similar. This, too, is my first time in my life (I'm 36) that I have been serious about getting sober and maintaining sobriety.

I was going to go up to my mom's in the mountains, but when I decided to change my life (early last week) I called her and told her I wouldn't make it. She has a BAR there and that is where my family sleeps when we visit. In addition to that, I have a horrible relationship with my step dad and can barely handle him 3 sheets to the wind. My mom is upset, but I had to do what is right for ME and MY FAMILY. We are having a quiet Thanksgiving at home, just the 4 of us. By the time Christmas rolls around, I hope to be able to handle the temptations. But right now, it's just too soon.