Newest Poem by brother in Prison

Old 11-09-2013, 08:02 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Newest Poem by brother in Prison

Please let me know if you have any advice or comments to send my brother's way...thanks for reading.

ME Vs ME

When I'm clean I see things quite clear
Without a clue who's looking back in this mirror
It's getting to know him that I really do fear
First time I've seen him in a reflection without a glare

I forever argue with this dude while he pays no attention
If I was a priceable he'd be up for suspension
If I was a coach I'd have already benched him
But some how this will effect me, he's like an extension

The dude looking back is constently whooping my ass
Ever since I can remember, Damn near everday of my past
Got to get my weight up to stop getting thrashed
If it is up to him I'm going to die getting trashed!

I'm tired of this dude that looks back as my twin
With time I've gained a soft spot because he's something like kin
Now eye to eye with him, no longer backwards I bend
Time to treat him like the enemy because he sure ain't a friend
Old 11-09-2013, 10:38 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
TMZ

It sounds to me like he is clearing up from the drugs, but still confused as to what is real and what is not. I think he is still in a debate between an angle on one shoulder and the devil on the other. I see he know he needs to build up some strength to fight and if he losses he knows it will lead to an early death.

He has come a long way, and yet more to travel. This road is a lonely one, and only he can climb the mountain on his own. We all have that dragon with in us, he has to rely on what he knows, what he learned as a child. Because it is God given we all have the power with in ourselves to do it and to heal, ... we always have all along.....

Keep up the strength you will prevail. There is a reason for you to have experienced what you have and you will soon find it.

Be well,
Old 11-11-2013, 11:52 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
TMZ