Notices

I'm Quitting Drinking... Again. Help?

Old 11-08-2013, 11:36 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I'm Quitting Drinking... Again. Help?

Hello,

I am an under-employed school teacher (and I haven't worked since July), a husband, a father of a healthy 3-yr-old boy, a Type 1 Diabetic, and a raging alcoholic. I am supposed to have no more than 2 drinks per day, but usually average 8-10, sometimes less, sometimes (e.g. last night) waaay more. Both of my parents have died over the last 2 years, and both were alcoholics. My dad was a severe alcoholic. My only sibling is also an alcoholic. My wife is getting concerned, and rightfully so, as I am already terribly unhealthy due to my diabetes and other health problems. I am getting serious about quitting. As to my thread title, I "quit" drinking once or twice a week. Sometimes I even stay sober for a whole day! But rarely. The longest I've gone without a drink was about 3 days, two or so months ago. This is only because my blood glucose readings were completely out of control. It always starts with one or two drinks. If I make it to three, it's as if the road begins to drop and my brakes stop working! Next thing you know... I wake up feeling horrible and my wife is sleeping on the couch.

What's the best way to get sober and stay sober? I live in a small town. Everyone knows everyone's business. I can't therefore join an AA group or something, being a professional and somewhat public figure in the area. I really don't want to die young(ish) because of my own inability to say NO to a drink. Any encouragement, advice, or recommended resources for getting sober will be much appreciated!

Thanks in advance.
Old 11-08-2013, 11:46 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Canine Welfare Advocate

Welcome to SR. I hope you avail yourself to all the resources you need to get and stay sober. You have your reasons to avoid AA. This could be the hurdle that keeps you ensnared in the addiction.