Notices

Doubting

Old 11-08-2013, 10:01 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Doubting

I am/was engaged to a wonderful man. Kind, giving, etc. my main concern was he drinks a lot. From the time he gets home til he goes to bed. Anywhere from 5 to 8 beers everyday Why I'm confused is he's successful at his job, and not really showing any bad behaviors. I know his tolerance must be high. I'm a nurse by the way. So I'm especially bothered by how unhealthy this is. I've decided I can't live my life stressed about what he's doing to his body and so he is moving out in 3 weeks. I need to know this is the right thing.
Old 11-08-2013, 10:04 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Canine Welfare Advocate

Welcome to SR. Sorry for what you are going though.

I think it is good for you to realize that there is nothing you can do about his drinking if he doesn't want to quit. So removing yourself (or in this case him) from the situation seems wise.
Old 11-08-2013, 10:17 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Hi Brincess, I put my current girlfriend and former fiance (yes, I stated that correctly) through my drinking and it has not been fun for either of us. She found a lot of help and support through Al-Anon.

It wasn't until a few months prior to entering recovery (and I am still struggling!) that my behavior started to deteriorate. I was, and still am, extremely gifted and successful in my field. I say that to point out that addiction doesn't discriminate. I'd always used academic and career success to hide my drinking from others, and from myself. He may not be an addict/alcoholic and even if he is, he may not yet know it. However, if he is an addict/alcoholic, the disease prognosis strongly indicates that over time it will become self-apparent.

How did a receive your request that he move out?

Best of luck to you.
Old 11-08-2013, 12:07 PM
  # 4 (permalink)