Me and my codie issues (away from the A)

Old 11-03-2013, 06:08 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Me and my codie issues (away from the A)

I have violated every rule I know of and allowed myself to get twisted into a codie pretzel by not respecting my own boundaries.

I am friends with Man A who is in the process of being divorced. I do not know his wife, I am unrelated to their marital issues. I didn't ever know him when he was living in the same house with her.

So he doesn't have the funds to hire an attorney and because I am an attorney and have some time to spare, I OFFER TO REPRESENT HIM through the end of the divorce.

For free. (Because I am a sucker.)

He and I see each other socially - always in groups or alone for coffee at a public place in the middle of the day, no pairing off or making out - because even though I am developing feelings for him, and he seems to be reciprocating, in my mind he is married and if there's going to be anything there, it has to come after the divorce. (Because I am all about propriety and having standards).

And the divorce is nearly final. So I expect to spend all weekend working on his documents, and I ask him when he can come review them, and he has gone out of town to a party.

And here I sit RESENTFUL as hell because:

1. I am spending a beautiful weekend indoors typing his stupid documents.
2. He is going to a party.
3. I am responsible for these documents being ready by Monday.
4. He probably has a date.
5. Why didn't he ask me?
6. Why did he fail to mention in daily conversation that he was going out of town to a big event?
7. Why wasn't I clear and say "hey listen, we need to work this weekend" instead of assuming that he would be available when I needed him to be.
8. Why won't I even ask for what I need professionally?
9. Why did I let MYSELF get committed to solving his problems for him when he isn't adequately committed to taking care of them his-own-damn-self?
10. Am I not pretty enough?