Notices

Social Anxiety

Old 10-30-2013, 08:30 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Social Anxiety

I'm very new to recovery and am having major issues with social anxiety. I have become a complete hermit. I already have issue with anxiety and depression and used alcohol for a long time as a crutch. I can't go out because I have no idea how to feel comfortable at events without my crutch. I'm on 30mg of Lexapro for anxiety and depression but it doesn't seem to be doing much for the anxiety. I would also love to date but have not idea how to go on a date without alcohol. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Old 10-30-2013, 08:43 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Story of my life..... Obviously , the meds are going to have a hard time working when you're drinking. I know what you mean though.... I've actually joined a small group at my church and we meet once a week and I go to the gym everyday ( even though I just shove my headphones in and keep to myself ) ... I even have a hard time at AA meetings feeling anxious... When I had some sober time, I went to therapy and that seemed to help.... Have you thought about that?
Old 10-30-2013, 09:08 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Canine Welfare Advocate

Welcome Phoebe. Congrats on your sober time.

How long sober?

If you are at the early stage, you might want to go ahead and focus on your recovery for now and less on cracking the social barrier. Definitely give your recovery some time before you think about dating.

When you say you don't feel comfortable at "events" without alcohol, what do you mean? What kind of events?

I had all kinds of social situations that made we want to drink, but plenty I felt comfortable in--Going out for coffee, movies, museums, volunteer stuff. Indentify what you can and can't do, and do the ones you can.
Old 10-30-2013, 09:18 AM
  # 4 (permalink)