Notices

Root cause of drinking...

Old 10-29-2013, 10:58 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Root cause of drinking...

i saw my counselor today for the first time in MONTHS. I am new to counseling. Only went three times before I stopped going. He told me I have "intimacy" issues... he's right, but it's hard to hear.

So I told him today about my occasional binge drinking and my revelation that I don't have control over my alcohol consumption. See, he seems off put by me because most people walk into his office because they have hit rock bottom... not because they FORESEE rock bottom. and he said that that makes me a very interesting patient. he asked me if I know WHY I drink. and I do! I over analyze. I over committee, I over perfect... I over think, plan, implement, and have high expectations. He said my process of thinking is my root problem. I can't work out, I have to work out, eat, think, and live to have the end result of fitness perfection. I have to be the perfect mom, and when my child acts out that's a direct reflection of my parenting, I have to be the most attentive and loving partner, and I have to maintain strength/control at all times. I stifle emotions and try to think rationally, logically (hello intimacy issues!) and when I have JUST ONE drink, that warm... fuzzy.... forgiving... IN THE MOMENT feeling allows me to stop caring. For a brief period of time. and I want that feeling more and more and more (with drinks and drinks and drinks) until I am inebriated and all those fears of "less than perfect", of not meeting my expectations, come back, emotionally (cause I am drunk), in full force, and my anxiety is THROUGH THE ROOF!

Sigh, I am rambling. Basically, I looked at him and asked him. then how the H@LL do I avoid drinking when I need to NOT be perfect for a change??? I need an alternative! again... sigh
Old 10-29-2013, 11:10 AM
  # 2 (permalink)