Notices

Enough is enough

Old 10-19-2013, 09:36 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Enough is enough

Hello all-

I am a newby to this forum; found it by accident yesterday when I was researching if and how the liver regenerates...

I have been drinking wine for over 30 years now and mostly I drink way too much of it. The only time I didn't drink was when I smoked weed instead and later when I was pregnant and a little bit into the post partum period.

Most nights I'd drink anywhere from 1/3 to the whole bottle per night, with very few sober nights in between. I love, love, love that feeling of being mellow on it. It gets my creativity going, it makes raising my kids easier (it is the bonus after a hard day of parenting), it makes me funny, relaxed and happy! And it also ruins my liver and now I am scared of not seeing my grand kids. I also don't want my kids to grow up and see mom drinking. My oldest (a pre-teen) is already aware and has told me once not to drink when I opened up a bottle. I just lied straight to her face and told her that a glass of it is healthy; that it is not like drinking other alcohol...

So I have decided yesterday that it was my last bottle. Because I just can't do this to my body. Shouldn't do this to my body, and I sure don't want my kids to think that drinking is OK.

I have no idea how to get that feeling though - that relaxed, happy, floaty, creative feeling that is so different to the stressful and hectic life I am experiencing.

If I am honest I wish weed were legal and I could bake myself some special brownies - how's that for a junkie mind?

Happy (and scared) to be here,
AgentP
Old 10-19-2013, 09:44 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

AgentP, it's great to read your post. Now is a good time to step back and reflect. You and your family deserve it.