Completely Lost

Old 10-18-2013, 05:43 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Completely Lost

This week has been tough with my AW. She doesn't remember half the night from Tuesday. Wednesday as I was sleeping she fell and hurt her ankle, neck, and head. I heard her crawling on the floor in our bedroom as I woke up.
Last night I stayed on the couch as she was drinking and watching tv to make sure she was ok, but I fell asleep. I woke up when she crashed in a wall and knocked a picture down on herself. As I was standing up, she staggered into the kitchen and tipped over. She smacked her head like a football player hitting the turf. She has a huge bump on her head. As she has been mixing pills and 7&7 I'm afraid for her.

I've stayed up 2 nights after these events to get her into bed and monitor her breathing, I don't know what to do.
I've been attending al-anon meetings for a few months now and know I shouldn't try to stop her from drinking, nag her about it, etc. I am her backup alarm clock and she would've been fired long ago If i havent been there to get her going in the morning.

Some have suggested I let her sleep in and get into trouble at work. How do you turn your back and allow all this to happen so she hits rock bottom? My codependant behavior is allowing her to be a "functioning" alcoholic and perhaps delaying her hitting rock bottom and realization.
What can I do????? We've been so close to 2 hospital trips 2 nights in a row.
Old 10-18-2013, 05:56 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Community Greeter

steelman, have you ever thought of packing your bags and leaving?

This is a question---not a statement.....

dandylion
Old 10-18-2013, 06:05 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Syd

Originally Posted by steelman1649 View Post